jump to navigation

Texture Mod. Rough Sketch…. October 23, 2009

Posted by smidget08 in Uncategorized.
trackback

I haven’t had any time to work on this modular yet, and this is just a rough sketch, so any suggestions would be appreciated. Naturally, I will have a reference photo to work with once I approve it with the owner of the property. There will be a silo beside the barn, and I do not have textures figured out yet for the barn and the barn roof, and also the silo… I was thinking tin foil for it…maybe crinkle it up for the top part. Thanks!

rough sketch texture mod.. copy

Comments»

1. shelbysee - October 23, 2009

i really like the idea of an abstract landscape! i would love to see really different textures in places they wouldn’t normally be, such as the cotton on the cloud or silk in the sky. You could do different patterned fabrics for the hills. Maybe try a yard like texture for the barn or a bark from a tree for the hills. i really like where it’s going. good luck!

2. smidget08 - October 23, 2009

Thanks Shelby! I really like the idea of the silk for the sky and the tree bark!

3. sunniwatson - October 23, 2009

I also love this idea. You can use crinkled paper/streamers fro the sun? I like the idea of using bark or maybe even popsicle sticks overlapped for the barn. I’d add a fence or the silo just so that there is a little more of a farm feel. (the barn is lonely 😦 ). I like the idea of silk for the sky! it could almost look like water. The different fabrics for the hills have endless possibilities! I would mix fabrics and maybe a more natural objects like actual grass or even leaves. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

4. smidget08 - October 23, 2009

I really like the idea of the streamers for the sun! And yes, I thought the barn was lonely. 😦 I just can’t think of what I am going to add to it….I think I will also mix the grass, etc. in. That seems like it would give it a more natural feel along with the fabrics…Popsicle sticks sound fun too! Maybe I’ll use them for the barn and bark for the roof! 😀 Thanks girls!

5. show102 - October 23, 2009

Of course cotton is a great texture for the clouds 😉 ! It will be interesting to see the different textures fore the different hills. Are you planning on using a texture for the sky? I can’t wait to see the final composition

6. enewman89 - October 23, 2009

I really like the idea of using fabrics to convey a landscape, because it reminds me of antique quilts, which tell a story. Perhaps you could use a burlap sack for the barn–to contrast with the surrounding fabrics. It would unify with the other elements because it is a fabric, but it also shows the roughness of wood. For the sun, you may want to find a baby blanket with a shiny soft texture–I am not sure what the fabric is called. If you rummage through some baby blankets though, I think you can easily spot what I’m referring to. I like all the other suggestions you have on your modular, best of luck!

7. smidget08 - October 23, 2009

I think I will use the silk for the sky, or a water-like texture, and I think I will add something else in, maybe a few structures, or an old farm truck, or something to break up the composition somehow.

8. smidget08 - October 23, 2009

Thats a great idea Elizabeth! If I can find a burlap sack, I will try to incorporate that also. I think I might add a farmhouse, so maybe I can use all of these great suggestions somehow. I think I know what you are referring to on the baby blanket. And that’s a great way to look at it, as a quilt telling a story. Thanks!!! 😀

9. maryjoyceee - October 23, 2009

Maybe for the sun you could use the texture of someone’s hair? Blond hair, that is. And your barn could really be any texture. Are you wanting something like wood? Something metallic? Something soft? What is the overall effect you would like to achieve. It’s a great idea, especially the mexican blanket. I think that’s really cool.

10. madfuskills - October 23, 2009

I think that using cotton to represent clouds is an awesome idea. I can’t wait to see how that turns out. For the barn, I thought it might be a good idea to get one of those small pieces of wood from the still life that is set up in the front of the room and scan in that wood texture to use for the side of the barn. I’m sure you could somehow make that red or whatever color you wanted too once you got it into your composition. I was also thinking it would be cool/amusing to throw in a cow standing on top of one of the hills. You could perhaps scan in some kind of smooth fur texture for that. Just a thought though.

11. smidget08 - October 23, 2009

Thanks Mary! The blonde hair is a great idea! And Chase, I think I will add a cow in , that’s a great suggestion. The pieces of wood are also a great thing to use! Now I will have to go find fur! 🙂


Leave a Reply

